header link header link
twitter facebook

Highway Department

Jackson County Highway

Jerry Ault
Highway Superintendent

Julie Wehmiller
Office Manager

360 S. County Rd. 25 E.
Brownstown, IN  47220

Ph: (812) 358-2226
Fx: (812) 358-0953

Summer Hours
April 1 - Oct. 31)

Monday - Thursday
6:00 am - 4:30 pm 

Weeks w/ Paid Holiday
Monday - Thursday 
6:00 am - 2:30 pm

Winter Hours
(Nov. 1 - March 31)
7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Jackson County Highway Department is responsible for maintaining the county roads and bridges.
There are 12 townships in the county with a total of 738 miles of road to maintain. There are 190 bridges in the county. The department has 3 crews that work county wide in all 12 townships.

For any emergencies after hours, please contact the Sheriff’s Department at (812) 358-2141 and they will contact the Highway Superintendent Jerry Ault.

Crew Foreman:
The Highway Department has three:
  • Tony Hamilton: Paving, Chip & Seal, Grading, Stoning roads
  • Jeff Jackson: Signs, Mowing, Mo-trim, Debris pickup
  • Todd LePage: Ditching, Culverts, Driveway Permits
  • Drew B. Markel, President: District 1 Townships (Brownstown, Driftwood, Grassy Fork, and Washington)
  • Bob Gillaspy: District 2 Townships (Hamilton, Jackson, Redding, and Vernon)
  • Matt Reedy: District 3 Townships (Carr, Owen, Salt Creek, and Pershing)