Personal Property Taxes
* "Postmarked" does not mean the date printed by a postage meter that affixes postage to the envelope or package, but must be postmarked by the United States Postal Service as mailed on or before the due date.
NEW in 2021
New Online Filing Process
PPOP-IN is a new online service portal to use when filing business personal property assessments with the county Assessor. PPOP-IN is available in February 2021
Register account at https://access.in.gov
If you are registered with an account in the "Access Indiana" online portal mentioned above, a link to set up you PPOP-IN account will be provided to you via email starting in February 2021.
NEW in 2020
Beginning in 2016, IC 6-1.1-3-7.2 provides an exemption for a taxpayer’s personal property in a county if the acquisition cost of that taxpayer’s total personal property in the county is less than $40,000 for the assessment date. For purposes of this exemption, “acquisition cost” means the cost of the business personal property:
(1) acquired in an arms-length transaction from an entity that is not an affiliate of the taxpayer, if the personal property has been previously used in Indiana before being placed in service in the county; or
(2) acquired in any manner, if the personal property has never been previously used in Indiana before being placed in service in the county. IC 6-1.1-3-7.2(c)(3).
A taxpayer that is eligible for the exemption is not required to file a personal property return for the taxpayer’s business personal property in the county for that assessment date. However, the taxpayer must, before May 15 of the calendar year in which the assessment date occurs, file annually with the county assessor stating that the taxpayer’s business personal property in the county is exempt from taxation for that assessment date.
A taxpayer believing he qualifies for this exemption is encouraged to review IC 6-1.1-3-7.2 in consultation with his legal counsel and/or financial advisor before signing this certification. Only one annual certification is required for each county where the taxpayer is eligible. If a person fails to timely file the annual certification, the county auditor must impose a penalty of $25 that must be paid by the person with the next property tax installment that is collected.
* If you are needing to obtain the taxing district for a location below is a link to assist you. Enter the address of the location and it will tell you the taxing district.
Below are some of the most common Personal Property Forms if the one you need is not listed you can access all of the forms at www.in.gov/dlgf.